A Board of Governors (BOG) chosen from the Society’s membership presides over the activities of the Society, subject to the limitations of the Constitution and By-Laws and Society Policies. A Nominating Committee selects a slate of qualified nominees annually for election to serve as President and Board of Governors Members-at-Large.


Karen Ohland, ASME President

Karen Ohland

“If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together. Let's go together and invite others to join us to advance engineering for the benefit of humanity.” Karen Ohland


Bryan A. Erler Immediate Past President
Mahantesh Hiremath
Thomas Costabile Executive Director/CEO
Thomas Costabile
Andrew Bicos Andrew Bicos
Term 2020–2023
Tommy Gardner Tommy Gardner
Term 2021–2024
Susan Ipri Brown Susan Ipri Brown
Term 2022–2025
Sam Korellis Sam Korellis
Term: 2021–2024
Thomas Kurfess Thomas Kurfess
Term: 2022–2025
Richard Marboe Richard Marboe
Term 2020–2023
Jared Oehring Jared Oehring
Term 2022–2025
Paul Stevenson Paul Stevenson
Term 2020–2023
Patrick Vieth Patrick Vieth
Term 2022–2025
Wolf Yeigh Wolf Yeigh
Term 2021–2024

Society Officers

John Goosen Secretary/Treasurer John Goossen
John Delli Venneri Assistant Secretary/General Counsel John Delli Venneri
William Garofalo Chief Financial Officer William Garofalo

Becoming an ASME Member

Joining ASME is the most important connection a current or future Mechanical Engineer can make.

Save up to 50% on courses, books, journals, conferences, and more
Student or professional memberships available

You are now leaving